9 foot Balsa board restoration help !

Well my mate has asked me to restore a Balsa board which was being used as a shelf in his uncles place. The board was originally his fathers so he is keen to restore it and i’m keen to fix it. 

This is my first attempt at fixing a Balsa Board so i am looking for some hints and help from people. 

There are a few holes that need filling, The fin is almost rotted so i think i will have to build a new fin to replace it, I haven’t removed the timber yet but i’m guessing it’s not Balsa by the colour of it.

Pete

You Butcher!

Why didn't you post up before the so called resto.  This an old balsa board that is worth it's weight in gold, and you just go ripping off glass.

heck why not just reshape it too?....(being facious here, don't do it.)

The best retorations are the non intrusive ones.  The ones that restore not reshape.   But since you decided to rip off the glass...carry on, reglass the whole thing.   Don't put a new fin on it...fix the fin and make it original.

Actually I’m not a BUTCHER !!! 

This is how I received the board someone else had already removed the glass. I have no idea how bad the condition was but by the looks of it I’m pretty sure it wasn’t good. It was being used as a shelf in a garage for years !!

But thanks for your 2 cents worth !

My friend Kenny Woleen has an old Swastika balsa/redwood, that rodents chewed through, so he took it to Dale Velzy to have it fixed before he died.  Dale called him and left a cool message on his phone which I had him send to mine, and I’ll play it every now and then just to hear the Hawk’s scratchy old voice and his admonition: “to keeps it where the mice can’t get at it”.  Probably should forward it to the Surfing Heritage Museum.