Additive F & Epoxy

Good evening all,

I am fairly new to shaping, and have a question about additive F. Do you have to use Resin Research with it, or will any epoxy do? I thought I read somewhere that it has to be RR. Anyone who has used it with other resins please help me out.

Thanks,

Nate

Other brands should have there own equivalent. For example, I beleive that Fiberglass Hawaii Aluzine calls theres’ Surfacing Agent (or Sanding agent- something like that).

Whatever brand your using, check out their website.

Good stuff, just don’t over do-it or you might end up with bonding issues, particularly in small batches.

I haven’t used it in a long time and I don’t miss it at all.

IIRC, the folks that need it are in cold and/or humid places.

Every epoxy system has different chemistry and charateristics. It’s best to stick with the manufacturer’s suggestions.

For example, Resin Research used Additive F to lay down a nice, sandable hotcoat while Entropy SuperSAP does not require any additives for a hotcoat.

Humidity/moisture and carbon dioxide – amine blush.

additive F is xylene and parafin. It will work with any epoxy resin and used in paint application also($17 a gallon at sherwin and williams). As mentioned above, many higher quality resins do not require keeping this fire hazard in your shop to get a perfect finish. With all the resin options available, keeping things simple usually means less chance of mistakes. If acheiving better flow in low temp climates is an issue just warm your epoxy. If you already bought your RR you need xylene and parafin surfacing agent for applications after initial lamination, whatever brand or home made surfacing for epoxy will do the job.

Strange question…Really…

add F is a Resin Research product. If you’re not using RR why do you worry about add F ???

My workshop is warm and dry. I use Add F for all my lams and hot coats. Awesome stuff !  Follow the rules.

I use it with other brand with no problems.