Best way to add a stringer

Alright, this weekend I took the giant leap into shaper-dom! Well, sort of… Here is my dilemma.

My blank is a recovered pop-out that I successfully striped down to the foam. Being as such, the blank has no stringer. I went to my handy lumber supplier, got enough wood for a stringer and ran home drooling at the thought of creating my first board. Then, my over analytical brain began its usual process. Hopefully someone can help me with these questions:

• Should I cut the outline/shape the blank before I split it in half to add the stringer or should I add the stringer and then finish the shape?
  • Is there a good way to duplicate the rocker from an existing board?
  • Which is the best choice for bonding the basswood to the PU? (Gorilla, Elmers or something else)
Thanks in advance for the help.

Hi, i’m not a pro…neither an am. but i’ll try to help you:

• Cut it before

• Yes, measure it using a

straight reference and a rueler (hope it’s the correct vocab…in any case i’ve learned it reading the archive…as always)

• I think the best choice is epoxy.

Cheers… flavio—> just a learner.

Cut it in first. Gorilla is strong, fast, relatively cheap, and shapes away easy. Its also yellow & foamy, so don’t leave any gaps between the foam & stringer - clean up your joints.

Excellent guys.

Thanks and keep em coming!

stringered blanks are easier to shape cuz it keeps the blank from bending while shaping…there are many ways to duplicate rocker…none are easy

if i wanted to duplicate rocker, i’d just make a rocker template of the original board, use the template to cut my stringer (allowing a little room for error and touch-ups), and then glue up the blank to the properly-rockered stringer. it may not be perfect, but it sure would be close. and it isn’t fast, but i don’t think it’d be all too difficult.