Cut lap noob

This is my first post on this site but I’ve read a lot on here and have gotten a lot of help by doing so. Thanks for all the help and for being so cool. I’m new to shaping and glassing, I’m currently on my fourth board. I’m pretty happy with the results so far, but it’s something I wanted to be really good at since I was about 10. Anyway, this time around I want to try cut laps.  I have a good enough idea how to tape and mask for this, my question is when do I cut? While resin is still wet, or when it’s fully cured? I’m using EPS/epoxy if that makes any difference. Thanks

Hello Guy Paul,

For me it works best to cut when the epoxy has set enough not to be sticky or prone to delam, but soft enough that the cloth and resin can be bent and cut with little effort.  Some call this a ‘b-stage’ condition.

I’d make a practice piece with your cloth and resin, get it taped, lammed, and cured to b-stage (your time to b-stage will depend on temps and resin, etc.), and then take a test cut. If the cloth still wants to delam, wait another 10-15 minutes and try again. Once the sweet spot is found it is a beautiful thing. The cutting tool should be sharp and watch out for the fingers.

Here’s a video from Fiberglass Hawaii, there are also good threads with pics here on Sway’s to be found by using the search bar. -J

Rad! Thanks a lot I really appreciate it

Just past the stage where it makes “strings”.

If you touch a drop of resin with a toothpick then pull it away and a “string” of resin follows the toothpick, it’s too soon… Just after that and it’s perfect. Too long and it’s a huge hassle.

When it isn’t sticky anymore, but still rubbery. After razor cut, clean up the cut with a small block plane

I grind the laps of when there fully cured with a die grinder. Sets up for a really flat lap so you dont get build up from your deck lam. 

I have no board making knowledge but I know a killer thread title when I read one.