epoxy laps...

Hey guys… If doing a carbon deck/color bottom with a clear deck lam overlapping to bottom, should the overlaps be cut or freelapped??? I tried searching but couldn’t hook up on anything.

John, I understand the “carbon deck/color bottom” okay, but what’s a “clear deck lam overlapping to bottom”? Are you laminating a glass layer over the carbon deck layer? No color on the deck carbon will leave you with a black deck. Very hot, no? I’ve never used carbon before. Maybe somebody who has can jump in and say whether to cover glass with carbon, or vise versa. I’d definitely take the carbon to the lap edge and laminate the glass and carbon together for strength. Where will the color edge be? If you’re covering the carbon edge with bottom color, you could cut or freelap the carbon edge. Your choice, as far as looks go. I would probably try a reverse lap, laminating the deck first. I’d tape and cut the carbon lap edge at the flat-to-rail roll transition, then fill and sand the edge. I’ve pressed a smoothed glass edge into the foam. I like the way it keeps full strength to the lap edge.

Noodle - Thanks for the response. I was thinking of a tint bottom and rail with a cut lap. Considering the carbon deck within the cutlap (trimming it for a clean edge right at the rail overlap from the bottom) followed by a clear lam over the carbon and overlapping to the bottom. Wasn’t sure if a freelap from the deck using epoxy resin would be completely transparent on the bottom… maybe requiring a cutlap? Using Silane glass so I’m thinking a freelap would be OK.