Is acryllic the best option?

Hey,

I’m completely new to board making, in the middle of my first board, just done the first layer of hot coat & am so far very chuffed with my first home made board.

I have been advised by my friends that my artwork will be best to be painted onto my board once my hot coat is done, but before the glossing is done & that I should use acryllic paint diluted with some accrylic based floor varnish.

Have tried to upload a pic, but can’t resize to make small enough right now, but essentially we have some rainbow wavey lines going across the length of the board (underside this is) with these coloured waves being turned into waves (for the blue lines) with people surfing them. hills are made from the the green lines with some flowers & animals. then the last part of the board is the sky with clouds & birds. This probably doesn’t make any sense at all!?!??! Sorry!!

So I guess because my artwork is more of a picture that’s why I was recommended to do this way

But what I would really like is to hear from somebody who has also done this to find out what I need to be aware of & not do!!

Presumably the artwork needs to be quite thinly painted & as flat to the board as possible.

Should I sand afterwards?

Any help and advice would be extremely appreciated as none of my mates have tried this technique themselves before.

Many thanks

Patsy

Glad your having fun,

Glassing at 95 degrees was kinka scarry huh. you guys did great.

Looking forward to seeing your board finished, hopefuly get them finished at the weekend.

You can borrow my paint pens for the smaller stuff and some lines between the colours, I’d mask off and do one large block of colour at a time, and wait for it to fully dry before doing the next, then do the small stuff on top with the pens, then do some out lines to make thinks pop. Clive might let you use his air brush if you ask nicely.

Just take your time and enjoy it. I’m sure it will look great.

See you at the weekend.