Journey Of A Quad

i’ve been a visitor to swaylocks for four or five years now, & registered a couple of years ago. my favourite threads have always been those that illustrate entire processes of doing things. so i thought it was time i should contribute something of my own.

i hesitate to do this for a couple of reasons. first, i’m no expert. i am lucky enough to have a dad who taught me how to shape as a teenager but since then in the last fifteen years i’ve only made around twenty boards & glassed three. i just make boards for myself. secondly, i’m afraid that this thread will confirm what some of you already know - i’m the world’s slowest surfboard maker! believe me, this quad will take a while, since not only am i slow, but also i’ve got a few other projects going at the same time: re-landscaping the gardens at home, bringing work home at night (i’m a teacher), filmmaking, writing, surfing when i can & most importantly being a good husband to my wife & a good dad to my son. lastly, i hesitate to write this thread in case something might go awry & the board’ll turn out horribly wrong & everyone will know about it! haha…

but i have some positive reasons to persevere with this thread. like i said i think it’s good to share with fellow swaylockians who have been so generous with their time. also, it’ll give me a visual document to use for future reference when i make boards. moreover, people might provide constructive feedback & even ideas on how to do things better.

anyway, herein follows the journey of a 5’5" quad…

I’m stoked for it. I love visuals of everything.

Turn one of these…

Into one of these…

i like to make my fins first. gets me excited about making the rest of the board & helps in visualising what it will look like & how it will go.

i got templates & placement numbers from a generous crew on this thread:

http://www.swaylocks.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=252447;sb=post_latest_reply;so=ASC;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;guest=4093572