Longboard design suggestions, please

Hi all,

I’ve wanted to build my own board for a while and I’m finally going to take the plunge. I’ve decided I want a longboard to make my east-coast summers a little less boring. I’m considering something in the 9’0 to 9’2" range, and I’d like to have the best of both worlds: a good nose-rider combined with the ability to be fairly maneuverable.

I studied the boards people have submitted to the Resources page and it seems that the ballpark for measurements would be 17 3/4" x 22 1/2" x 14 1/4" x 2 3/4". I’m 5’9" and weigh 155 in trunks and generally surf boards from 6’0 thrusters to a 7’8" funboard. I don’t see this board as being a big-wave board, but something to use in knee-high junk up through head-high waves.

I’m open to any and all suggestions on the design options. Should I worry about putting concaves or V on the bottom, and if so, where? Rails: 50/50 for most of the length, going harder as I get near the back third of the board? I feel like I’m starting on page 1 of an entire encyclopedia. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Myron

You should surf a log first, then look at the bottom closely, and decide for YOURSELF what you want to change.

Most surfers don’t know what works, why, and how, so maybe just copy an existing log. You can adapt to IT"S characteristics easier than trying to make a board suitable for YOU…unless you have already made hundreds of boards.

Bascally, everything and anything works.

ahhh, the voice of reason and wisdom

put me down for that too…

get the blank draw the template shape the rails make the deck look about right and glassit! 22 3/4 or 1/2 or 2 3/4 0r three inches thick

dont get anal about the dimensions

make a board that feels about right and looks about right and there you’ll have it,the best board in the history of mankind and or the chinese empire whichever is greater,

the chinese history is older

…all the advise in the wold is worth about …zzzzzz