Need suggestions - for tri-fin long board

I will be starting on a new board next week, and would like some suggestions on fin set up.

The board is a the 9’1" longboard blank from Marko (EPS), epoxy will be silver tip from system three, and I have plenty of high density foam for inserts (if needed/recommended for the fin areas)

What I would like opinions on it the type (size and shape) as well as the location of the fins. I would like to build a tr-fin.

Context: I am a newbie, but I can already tell I am going to want something more sporty than the 10’4" monster I built to learn on (It has a single 10" fin and weighs a ton). I also built a EPS/epoxy fun shape, 7’6" from marko which turned out very nice (im just too big and too new to ride it).

any ideas? thanks

Joel Shine

If you don’t already have the blank, specify the heavy density they have and glass it light. Put on a rail to rail tail patch on the bottom to support glassed on fins.

On fins… try a wide-base “Bonzerish” center fin 6.5" high about 4" up from tail with smallish double-foiled side bites set almost parallel with a little cant about 13 1/2" up.

With tail width of 14 1/2" or less, this should work OK. Think longboard with a widowmaker fin layout.

If you want variability, install a longbox in the center with mini-stringer supports.

That’s a stringered blank, correct? If so, I’d advise a Bahne style center box and some removable sides, in about

the same positions John supplied. You get more versatility because you can ride it as a single, single with bites,

widowmaker, or thruster.

If you want to make your own ‘‘biscuits’’ for FCS, I can get you the factory dims. That’s the best way to install in eps.

Mike

Thanks guys, especially for the locations and sizes of fine. I will definitely make a fin box for the center fin.

Its a 1.9 pound foam, and it has a standard basswood stringer. I will start a new thread and post some pictures when I get the blank next week.