NOOB here with tons of questions

OK, so I am a newb and am just getting into surfing. I love building things and like going deeper into my hobbies like if i want to drag race a car I build the car from the ground up, If I want to go surfing i want to build my own surfboard. I have been hooked on the culture and history of surfing for a few months now and finally went surfing this weekend. I had a blast and got to try out a few rental boards before I headed home to AZ. I have a goal of building a board up and surfing it in 2 months. I have been lurking here for a bit and have a very hard time following everything you guys are all saying cause your all so more advanced than i and the terminolagy is hard to understand. So basicly I want to start a thread and that I could ask a bunch of questions in and sort of be my build thread. SOOOOO please hang in there with me as this is all new to me. My first question is I saw that you can buy big sheets of EPS at home depot, has anyone ever built a board this way? or does everyone use a company that has a roughly shaped blank?

Lots of folks build boards using EPS from lumber supply stores. Dig through the archives and you’ll see lots of info.

IMO, if you’ve only “tried” surfing once or twice you have a very steep learning curve ahead of you. That’s in regard to both surfing and board building.

I know I have alot to learn ( understatement lol ). Found this when I searched

http://www2.swaylocks.com/node/1008672

Execpt like i said the terminalagy and names of parts confuses the hell out of me Stinger? stinger rods? anybody know a book or vid i can check out?

Shaping 101 may help you. Also do you mean the stringer which is the wooden strip that runs up the middle of the foam. You may also find it easier to buy a blank that has the rough shape of the board already in it, rather than starting from scratch from a square piece of foam.

hi michael,