OT Working in Hawaii, New Zealand, Australia....

All right, so as was implied in the subject line, this is mostly off topic of board design. But not totally off topic on surfing. You see, right now I am a young, single journeyman electrician and college electrical instructor in Canada. But I live a few hours away from the nearest decent waves, and I am getting bored with the work I have been doing now for the last five years. To put it bluntly, I am looking to move away to some warm place with sweet waves. But I can’t afford to be a bum, and so I will be working wherever I go and just surfing the evenings and weekends like the rest of you regular folk. So if anyone knows about anyone looking for highly skilled and qualified electricians, please put me in contact with them, and I can get them resumes and all that sort of stuff. I have not applied for a working visa, but will as soon as I find a job worth taking.

Thanks a lot. Joel Feenstra

Check the NZ govt website about skilled immigrant visas etc. They have lists of what and where jobs are I think

pays are very low in nz as is the value of the dollar

dont expect anything great

theres always fruit picking

there is a shitload of work for all qualified tradesmen here in Hawaii, but remember the paradise tax (38% higher cost of living).

On the Big Island, many people who work in Kona are living across the island - thats 150 or so miles away. From the mainland this may not cause alarm, but remember too we have the highest gas prices in the country, most of the time. Housing is and will continue to be very hard to find, at rates that make sense for many working stiffs.