What's the point of a Swallow or a Stinger tail?

Has anyone ever ridden a swallow tail or a stinger type of board? What’s your theory behind those designs Ben Aipa came up with? What boards do they work or not work best on?

http://compositecorner.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/pro-shaper-profile-ben-aipa/

When I worked in the fishing tackle industry we used to joke that the stuff wasn’t designed to catch fish, it was designed to catch fishermen. Same thing with most designs in this industry. We need smiley icons on this site. Insert one here.