5’9 lis fish

Hi there,

I’m new to shaping, and just have a quick question about a 5’9 lis fish that I’m Shaping at the moment. I have planed the blank down to thickness but think I may taken to much off, the thickness around where my front foot will be is only 2 1/3 thick. I weigh 79kgs. will that be enough volume or am I pushing the limits? Just curious to know before I go any further on it

You are gettin close, but it’ll float you.

Performance will have more to do with your rocker/fins.

Looks more like a modern outline but what do I know hahah.

Looks pretty good to me. As far as the float. It should be ok. I assume you are making it around 21-21.5 wide?

21 wide. Just wasn’t too sure about the thickness people seem to go 2 1/2- 3 inch so I thought it might of been a throw away or give it away to someone a lot lighter haha

its defs a bit on the thin side but its jyst a bit under 2.5, it will be just a but more performance like. You still have the planing area to get up and go. worst case, you can sell it after you have tried it for enough to pay for new materials for the next one. best case you love it.