7.5 Skil 100 sounds weak

Okay so i am new to having a Skil 100 type 4. I totally rebuilt it with new blades bearings belt and brushes. Now that it is put back together it sometimes starts up a bit slow with a strong blue arc and every once in a while it sounds like a very faint pop when i pull the trigger, starts a tad slow then gets up to revolution. Is this common or did I do something wrong. I also put in a locking trigger.

That signpost, up ahead, says ‘‘disaster on the way.’’ For God’s sake, get PeteC involved with saving your ass. NONE of what you’ve described, in normal. Please, get his professional help. You’re close to burning up your planer.

Yeah …no

Did it have these symptoms before you messed with it? Try putting your old brushes and switch back in and see if it changes anything. That thing should torque your hand…it fires up so fast…when you trigger it. Arcing is bad. Backtrack your steps or let someone who knows electric motors check it out.

I think I figured it out. There is a break in the windings on the armature. Just need to either find a armature or have it rewound. Also the arcing was a bit of an overreach. I think it is just the standard blue contact from the brushes. I am just not use to the 7.5 amp. Any suggestions on rewinding?

Once again, PeteC may be your best shot. My experience with him has been OUTSTANDING, in every way.

I will pm him

Pete is the man. Super nice dude