who ELSE here was a january birth ?

[quote="$1"]

i turned 49 today !!

ben 

and happy birthday to josh [aka 'kickten'] who turns 19 on the 17th 

and hicksy 

and balsa 

who ELSE here was a january birth ?

[/quote] Nah, you have another 10-15 years before you become a mal rider. 

Happy Birthday, Ben.   Mike

thanks for the encouragement mike !

do you at ? 55? ride a mal ever ?

or are you still on short[ish] boards ?

cheers

ben

“HAPPY NEW YEAR” , happy surfing !!!

Ben,

I'm a youngster at 51!  Mostly just ride keeled fishes when it's small and a 7-0 and my new7-4 when I need a bit more paddling speed.  I have a beautiful mal under my deck waiting for that day, the day we all must face if we live long enough, when we HAVE to ride a mal.

I will say I rode a mal soley for a solid year in 92-93.  I studied the Bruce Brown films like Slippery When Wet, etc.  Tried to learn to cross step to the nose and back. It aint easy. I have never caught more waves.  It feels SOOOO fricken good to be perfectly trimmed on a 9-0!! The art of longboarding is beautiful.  Around here it's the kids who are studying the art of longboarding.  The older guys use them because they can't do it anymore on a shorter board. That's how I see it in my neighborhood, anyway. 

Hope you got some waves for your B Day.   Mike

cheers

yep today was headhigh

offshore

and 40 degrees C [that’s over 100 fahrenheit

cheers

ben

i like longboarding AND shortboarding …different tools for different conditions …summer here is usually FLAAAAT !d

the real definition of mal ,

though many believe it is short for malibu

is actually malevolent.

you will never be a malevolent rider

no matter what age or choice of vehicle 

you may choose to stride the aqueous membrane of planet.

fourty nine is just a starry memory to a survivor twice that age

riding a challenge  vehicle is the spice of life…