Big guy boards

I got some great suggestions from everyone in the last thread I started, which led me to my latest board. I’ve been surfing it for a few months and I’m already thinking about my next board order & possible changes. I was hoping some of you more mature, bigger guys would share what you are surfing & what is working for you at the moment. Anyway, I’m 6’2, 205-210 lbs, 35 yrs old and currently riding a 6’8-20.25-2.65 swallow tail quad. Thanks!

7’6" x 20 1/4 x 2 3/4 tri fin. 2# EPS, parabolic stringers, Epoxy, 3 layers of 4 oz impact glass top, 2 layers 4 oz impact glass on bottom.

My other board is the same thing except it’s 8’5" x 20 3/4 x 2 3/4.

I’m the same size as you, but I got an additional 11 years on you…and I catch more waves than you.

-Jay

JBJ,

Information about where you are would be helpful in advising you. Hawaii? Gulf coast? Calif.? Each area would get a different recommendation. Please fill in your profile.

The gauntlet has been thrown…

As for my location, I’m Currently in San Diego. I usually surf beach break when the conditions are right for it & Often surf a couple of reef breaks when the swell picks up (to sum it up, mostly weak southern California surf) I understand that without actually looking at the board I’m riding It’s hard to make suggestions. I was mostly curious about what other guys my size are riding but a couple of general changes I’m contemplating is

1-changing to a thruster fin set up?

2-going a touch narrower & a little thicker?