Big guy stubby? hull?

Hi,

I just read the article in the latest Surfers Journal about Hulls & Stubbies. I’m really intrigued.

I’d love to have one, but at my size (210+, 6’1”), my concern is that by the time someone makes one big enough, I may as well have a longboard with a lot of belly.

Am I off base here?

Would a 9’ Bojorquez model or Andreini be a waste?

Any ideas as to what would be ideal for me? (in New England)

Thanks!

hey john,

i’m 6’3" 215lbs 15% body fat…

and i just started riding a liddle

6’10" x 21 3/8 x 3 1/16

so i dunno…works for me…in fact

i love it…did very well in the

good ssw swell we had in santa cruz…

maybe kirk and the other hull-elders

can give you advice…

me?

i’m still trying to figure out fin postions…

i have the big center one and the two sides…

so i’m messing around with which ones should

be forward…

or equal…

hmmmm

im 6’1" and around 200 lbs, i just made a hull that measures 6’8"x22 1/4"x3 1/16"…it floats me like a longboard.

i surfed it in knee high rincon and it worked really great…these boards dont need to be big to work well!

i usually ride a 9’8" tanker, so im a lazy paddler these days, and i could catch waves without an issue…maybe go for a 7’0, they say thats the magic number!

Your Liddle / Bojoquez Hulls are fine floaters, even for a bigger guy- I am 6’1" and about 225lbs- (perhaps a bit more as I am healing from a second round of Surfers ear surgery) I Have a mix of Hulls from 7’2" up to 8’6". Even the 7’2" which is a wider Point Plane Shape Liddle Paddles well enough to get me where I need to be- If the current is ripping or there is a weekend crowd, I might opt for an equally full outlined 7’10" - A little easier on the old Bones. You need not go above 8 foot to still compete paddling wise. The 7’ to 8’ range seems to still have that super glide/carve thing thing that you want to get out of these boards, perfect for a bigger guy!