Bubbles after lamination - newb

Hi

It is my first post on this forum. I’ve been reading it for a while and now when I decided to build a board i would much appreciate some help.

I am building a SUP board (I know its lame :] but i live in Poland and our Baltic Sea don’t have big waves and i am living far from it)

I use EPS for core, ply stringer and epoxy. My problem occurs few hours (3-5h) after lamination. The glass was nicely, evenly spreaded. I think i have wet it completely with epoxy. And then i get these bubbles. They were not there when i finished the lamination process.

I am a newb and i know it but i try to watch all the vide on on fiberglass hawaii and other good resources.

I have made some tests on not shaped EPS and i didn’t get these bubbles.

After shaping my board is not perfect, i have some small holes from little “spheres” falling off during shaping.

I am soory for this begginer question and for my english.

Berst regards

You were very close to perfect.

When you squeegied off the extra epoxy, you pulled the cloth a little too tight. So what happens is, it slowly creeps back to where it wanted to be before you stretched it.

Next time, make sure not to drag the cloth with the squeegee.

The fix is to take your sander, and sand through the bumps, so you expose the foam again, just at the bump.  The apply a small patch of cloth over the exposed foam.

I’m still on the learning curve for glassing… but the guy at the board supply shop told me where I went south. He told me to squeegee out as much RESIN as possible without causing air bubbles. It’s working.

Just a guess, but it could be the temperature in your lamination room.

EPS is quite temperature sensitive and if the temperature rises before the epoxy has cured the air between the spheres in the EPS will expand and cause the lamination to lift off the foam