cedar...

Hello to all… long time roamer…first time posting… im wondering if anyone has any experience chambering a full cedar board… ive been wood working for a while and really want to attempt a surfboard… i dont know any balsa suppliers around here (southern New Jersey) so i dont know what its like to work with but i have a full stack of kiln dried white cedar i picked up from Maine that i use for other projects… just wondering how cedars compares to balsa…

Just do it I say!

Sounds like you have the material and expertise to work with Cedar, so take the plunge and get into it… I won’t be the only one keen to see the progress and the outcome.

I’m no expert but:

• Cedar is one of the materials that a lot of guys have used for boards. (often used in HWS)

• I’m sure the approach would be similar to doing the same thing in Balsa.

Find Swied’s thread and go from there.

Stoked for you - If only I have the cedar you have :slight_smile:

-Cam

Welcome Cheyen!

Cedar is beautiful wood. I have never used it to make a board – just balsa. Cedar is more dense than balsa, so you will have to be aggressive with your chambering to keep the weight down. That said… I like a good heavy board, so don’t make it too light. :slight_smile:

There is a lot of info on chambering in the archives, so spend some time and do the reading first. Make sure you don’t make the mistake of chambering before shaping the board.

I have a few opinions about style with wooden boards. First: There is no place for plastic on a wooden board. This includes plastic fin boxes, and lease plugs. If you can construct a wooden surfboard then you don’t need these shortcut items. Second: Make the board with the intent to ride it. Sure… it looks good on a wall, but its a surfboard. Ride it!

Here’s the link to my thread: Balsa Fish Project