Channel Island Mongrel is it good buy or not?

IM looking to get a new small wave board. IM leaning a little more towards the mongrel though instead of the other CI models. I’ve been surfing for about over a year or so IM about 5’9 155-160. I was thinking 6’0 but the other dimensions I wasn’t sure about. I have no knowledge of the Mongrel itself if anyone has one or has ridden one. Please tell me your experience and what you thought of it. Thank you very much.

i dont know what the mongrel is like but i do know that all of the ci descriptions of their boards posted on their website are very accurate. i dont ride merrick boards but i have in the past and i can tell you that they are the top of the line as far as shapes go. they work particularly well. They are special boards. if the description describes what you are looking for then dont waste anymore time and order it.

Like anything else, it depends largely on the rider.

The Mongrel will probably work fine but beware its fat beefy rails. You might end up digging those rails a lot. A guy like you who is a medium-weight surfer might do better to get a Flyer or Sashimi.

I’m 5’10", 170lbs adn I have a 6’0", 19 1/4 wide sashimi and I swear by this model. It gets me through summer and rides well until the surf gets head high. It’s fast down the line, it turns well, and I feel that I’m not losing any performance.

Also check out the K small wave.

A CI flyer is one of the best small wave boards out there IMO.It has alot of fishy qualities and still performs like a shortboard.I live on the east coast and have been going through some boards that perform well to the conditions.By far the flyer is the best one I’ve ever ridden and I’ll probably always have one from here on out.

I also have an epoxy JC stingray I ride when the waves get gutless and mushy.It also performs well when it gets head high,which isn’t very often.

Definitely get a flyer over a mongrel