Crazy hollow carbon balsa kevlar composite fish!!

Im new to Swaylocks, This is my second post and my first topic. I am currently building a hollow wood fish. I have some experience shaping foam boards, I have made 5 clark foam surfboards and about 30 foam-core skimboards (I live in Tampa FL so I’m lucky if I can catch some good swell on the gulf, but there’s a lot of good skim waves to be had)

my main hobby is radio controlled airplanes, I design and build my own airplanes. This has given me lots of experience working with balsa, plywood, carbon, kevlar, fiberglass and foam. And most of all I concider myself an expert on building light hollow structures that are capable of withstanding rediculous loads!!!

Check out my avitar I designed that airplane. It weighs 4.5 lb, The eingine gets over 1 hp at 15,500 rpm. It is capable of 120 mph and can pull over 15 G’s. That equals 67.5 lbs on a wing that weighs less than 1 lb.

I was about to shape a new fish but Clark foam went out of buisness so I can no longer get a good blank. I then decided to combine my skills and make a hollow wood board. I plan on making my board like I would make a wing on an aircraft. I am Inspired by Paul Jenson’s boards, however, No offense to you Paul, but Ive checked the specs on your boards and they seem very heavy. 13 lbs for a fish wich is under 6’0" seems excessive to me!!

After carefully examining the construction of other’s hollow wood boards, I have come across one MAJOR flaw. The loads from the deck are NOT distributed through-out the board properly. The gaps between ribs and stringers are way too large. In order to keep the board from crushing, Thick wood skins are used to bridge the large gaps between the stringer , rails and ribs. I don’t care how many lightening holes you cut in that plywood frame, it just looks SOOOO heavy!!!