Current planers

Anyone have suggestions for current planers on the market? I searched the archives and alot of discussion from early 2000s (try and find a skil 100) and some from 2010s (try and find a modified hitachi). Not many of those around and I wouldn’t know how to repair them.

Looking for new suggestions. Saw the modified makita through foamez. Seemed a solid option to me. Thoughts?

The answer depends on how much shaping you do or plan to do. I have 3 Skil 100s, a Porter Cable and a modified Hitachi and its been a year since I mowed foam. LOL!!! If I were a complete beginner I’d buy a Wen that can be had for as little as $30. If you’re an intermediate making less than 10 boards a year I’d suggest buying a battery operated planer from Makita or Dewalt and doing some minor mods to make it foam friendly. If you’re really into it you still can’t beat a Skil or a fully modified planer.

1 Like

https://www.homedepot.com/p/WEN-20-Volt-Max-Brushless-Cordless-3-1-4-in-Hand-Planer-with-4-0-Ah-Lithium-Ion-Battery-and-Charger-20653/319526638?source=shoppingads&locale=en-US&srsltid=AfmBOor2SfNtyM2myFB6NcTCHcrtVBETdSBAxizv_fwxAcj-u5aQF3T0I68#overlay

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-20V-MAX-XR-Cordless-Brushless-3-1-4-in-Planer-Tool-Only-DCP580B/206936914

Thanks Mako, appreciate the feedback. Ive been using same cheapo harbor freight since 2009. Lately I just do all by hand, but that planer is done. I only do a couple boards(1-3) a year for friends, family, myself; so very low production. I really only use the planer for taking down thickness and foiling the bottom. Rest I like to do with hand tools, try to do as much by hand as possible, keep the old school craft alive.

I recently had shoulder surgery so using this time off to upgrade some equipment. I did not think of cordless. I see one website has a modified makita cordless similar to the link you sent.