Deck Patch Question

Stupid question of the day. Every board I have ever glassed has been a shortboard that received one layer of six ounce cloth on the deck. I have a shaped longboard sitting in the garage and I want to put a double six layer on the deck. How? Do I just lay two layers of cloth on and go at it or do I lay up one layer and later come back and put another layer on top of it?

I have limited experience (I have done this on a paddleboard) so there are surely others here who can give more insight… The 2nd layer of cloth is done separately (or at least this is how I did it). I found the 2nd layer easier to lam since the resin beneath remains tacky. Once the fabric was in place the second layer could be worked a bit more agressively than over the board itself to get any bubbles out. There is also the factor here of how you want the layers… I did first top layer, then a bottom layer overlapping the top, then the final layer on top with a smaller lap. Sand. All free-lap, no trimming. Mine worked fine but it was what ‘seemed’ right, not what I had learned anywhere. hope this helps. EJ>>> Stupid question of the day. Every board I have ever glassed has been a > shortboard that received one layer of six ounce cloth on the deck. I have > a shaped longboard sitting in the garage and I want to put a double six > layer on the deck. How? Do I just lay two layers of cloth on and go at it > or do I lay up one layer and later come back and put another layer on top > of it?