epoxy glassed hard..but soft..board "spongy"

Hi ,

So if anyone could help me with this it would be great.

I shaped, glassed, sanded, waxed and surfed my first board and it went great!

But…its kinda soft but not like soft sticky, it sanded great. resin left in bucket are like super hard glass hockey puck, so it totally kicked.

I kinda only gave the bottom a proper sanding, and kept the topp more rough, really wanted get it in the water.

Think 2-3 day from hotcoat to surf…to early? not cured enough?

And its just after surfing it I started to feel see it, there are indendts on where the leach has wrapped on sharp rail and tail.

Its kinda “spongy” 

Not broken glass but indentations enough to mess up the board if not soon fixed.

I shaped an old blank PU that I had been sitting around for a while like 5-6 years.

Glassed with epoxy RR KWICK (blue)

Deck 6+4, Bottom 4, e-glass

I live in Santa Monica so normally pretty warmish, glassed at night though… so perhaps not warm enough…

My current plan to save it, would be to clean off wax, and do another hot coat, either epoxy, preferred or UV sanding resin (since know this will be rock hard)

Any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated.

Ill post picks if needed.

Cheers,

Daniel

Pics are always helpful. 

Will do!

After I removed the wax today after surfed mostly every day the last 2 weeks in souther california  in anything from 2-5ish feet.

I expected the deck to be all messed up, but to my suprise its only “lightly” dented mostly by back foot and what I suspect being knees from duckdiving.

So I checked the rails, I think its becouse I might not saturated cloth enough at the railwrapping, so its like the kinda never stuck to the foam, like a delam but not.

Deck and Bottom looking pretty solid but as soon as it reach the edges it look/feel as its getting softer.

This is only my wild guesses though, might be a combo of incompetence from my end :slight_smile:

/Daniel