Epoxy resin pinlines

I am not an expert.

What the pics don’t show is I do a thin layer of clear first before I mix the color in the resin, to seal the edges of the tape.  I had forgotten about that, but when I did the black stringer pinlines, I got a bunch of bleed, then it reminded me, haha!

Thanks for starting this one Huck.  I about to do this on the Thrailkill 8-0 Pig I am now glassing.

At what point did you pull the tape?  Did you use any thickener  (cabosill)?  Will you put a clear coat over it all after the pins are cured and trimmed?

all the best

No thickener but doesn’t seem like a bad idea, screed with the razor blade when it thickens, pull the tape when it gels, and yes will sand and clear coat.

WideAwake does better epoxy pinlines than me.

What was your method for the spread?  Distance between tapes?  I know some guys with a good eye and an artistic hand can pull tape free hand.  I’m not that good at it.  Are you?

Yes freehand. It’s not perfect, but good enough.

I used to do the thin clear sealing, too.

But since I use fineline masking tape I don´t seal anymore. I´m sanding the fillcoat to 150grit where the pinlines will be. Helps with the bleeding.

(the rest of the board is 100grit)

I use my coating epxoy (25min potlife, medium viscosity). Usually I just mix pigments and resin, no addititves. The pigments thicken the mix quite a lot.

I have thixotropic agent / fumed silica as well. But I only add it when I use colour paste. The colour paste gives a thinner mix compared to the pigments.

This is titanium dioxide (white pigment) with fineline masking tape and without sealing.

I pull the tape when the resin starts to get cheesy. Gives me smooth edges.

Nice.  That’s the way to do them.