Epoxy sanding question

Im using RR on a 6’0" thruster.  Ive recently started to use this stuff. I really like it but Im hearing things like I should let the board cure in heat for a couple days after I hotcoat?

Apparently it is supposed to help in the sanding process. I really dont know, although I want to believe it because sanding this stuff is a b*tch. Not like the poly’s I used to do.

Can anybody shed some light on this, and possibly critique me a little?

I hard sand with 50, taking down the laps, finbox, leashcup etc (3" small soft pad)

Then I quickly hit the deck, bottom and in between fin slots with 50 (same pad)

Then 80 grit

Then wet sand with 220, 320, 400, 600, 800

The board does come out good, although Im not a pro so I have some wheel marks and lam gouges every now and then but nothing too major.

But I really feel like its too much on account of searching on some forums on here to see what other have to say.

I too have found epoxy a lot more labour intensive than poly, poly sands easily without clogging paper whereas epoxy dulls and clogs paper pretty quickly regardless of cure time. I have washed and cleaned prior to sanding and used slower speeds etc., still a lot more work. Mind you I started with 120 as the hot coat was pretty flat to start with, I think I’ll try with 60/80 to give it a quick rough up and remove shinies then go down the grades. there’s got to be a knack to this :slight_smile:

I’ve also got some 60 & 80 grit wet and dry I want to try but I’ll have to do this by hand.

The last board I blocked down by hand and it seemed relatively easier than machine in that the paper lasted a bit longer and didn’t clog as much but the finished product was nice and flat and didn’t take that much time really. Would still rather get the machine sanding thing down though :slight_smile:

Does anyone have any recommendations for sand paper type for epoxy?