every craftsmans nightmare

I have a stack of balsa guns that were shaped by Lyle Carlson, started chambering the first one this week, was nearing completion when my routers speed suddenly increased and it slid forward with too much ease.

Over the years I have had the collet lossen up from vibration and drop the bit out he bottom while routing, not the case, bit a half inch, tool steel with carbide tips, snapped off right at the collet, Holy F’n BatShit, a 9 thousand RPM grenade

Holy Smokes!!! That is litterally dodging a bullet. Scary Sh$%. What make was the bit? Do you seat the bit all the way down in the collet or drop it to the bottom and then pull up a tiny bit to give space? This makes the bit concentric with the rotation and won’t work loose. Have heard of this happening but never experienced it. I’ve been a woodworker for 39 years and so far so good. That one probably added to the grey hair count. All the Best.

Yikes!

Scary.

If you work around power tools long enough shite will happen and a bit of luck is always a good thing.

Was it kept captive in the mortise or did it plow thru’ and screw up the work?

What brand was the bit?     

How long was the bit in the router?  It may have just sheared off at the collet from excess stress.

That looks to be a 1/2 inch shank.       Verrrry scarey.          Glad you’re OK.

Over my years in the machine shop I’ve seen quite a few broken or blown up cutter, even done a few myself… 

Never fun. Glad the picture wasn’t followed by damaged body parts. 

As they say… Safety never takes a vacation haha 

Jim, you didn’t mention anything about escaping without injury. I hope you did.

Had a similar situation occur.

Was routing out a longbox hole, when suddenly a loud noise and the F’n bit went through the deck onto the floor and recocheted all around my feet and off the walls.

Porter cable router at about 15,000 RPM’s.

Holy Shit!

Left a big dirty note on the wall. I was beyond pissed!