FCS plug cracked

I’ve already searched for an answer and it doesn’t appear that anybody’s had this problem here so here it goes. I’ve been wanting to resurect my 7’0" now that I’ve got some experience surfing… but I broke a fin on it a long time ago. FCS center fin. Here’s the problem… I broke the fin off in the sand playing around in knee high surf in Surfside, TX one day. Pretty stupid of me… anyway, one of the plugs that the fin was mounted in cracked… not too bad, but it has a hairline crack down inside the hole of the plug and everything, exposing just a little bit of foam(?) above the plug. I was thinking suncure and a toothpick could solve my problems, but I’m not sure. Any advise on the repair besides using a different fin system? If I don’t do anything, I’m affraid the foam will take in water, delaminating the board. I’m so sick of FCS, never going to get them on another board again.

Drill out the old plug. install a new one, wham bam! and stay out of the sand. FSC are a good fin System. any other fin system would have been way worse to fix. I swithed to Futures on a couple of boards,didn’t like the way they caused a hump on the bottom conture. tried Red-X, sliced the side of my back foot open on the holes at the deck. nice fin system but dangerous on the feet and toes

They make rubber caps available that eliminate that problem.