fin box install issue

g’day everyone - i’m a backyarder and this is my first foam board. I’d made a couple of HWS previous and also fixed acouple of snapped foam boards. But this is my first attempt at shaping foam.

I was lucky enough to borrow a Wayne Lynch Evolution 6’3" from a mate and have attempted to replicate it with a slight increase in overall volume. I also had a snapped fun board that i stripped the glass off and for each step of the shaping and glassing process i have had a 4’6" board to practice on which will be for my son.

I did a glass on fin for the little board but i wanted to do a 2 + 1 for the 6’4". I followed Stingrays thread from a few years ago so after the fill coat and before gloss i have cut the stringer and foam and glassed in the fin box no issues (maybe a little wonky!!) however when i came to sand/grind down the resin and remaining box that was sitting slightly proud of the board i have generated a slight hairline crack on one side of the box between the box and the resin. The question is should i remove the box and start again? can i glass over the box and “seal the deal” ( that may minimise water ingress but would not neccessarily do anything for the structural integrity of the box install)

At this stage if i do redo the box can anyone give me some tips on the process.

thanks in advance

M

Hi Noodle, I bought a new computer. I’m totally lost because it’s Windows 8 and I’m not tech savy…and most Tech people go so fast I just tune out…so no photos from me 'til I sort out all this computer stuff.