First build- Lots of questions.

I have been thinking about getting into board shaping for quite a while, and I am hoping that this winter I’ll finally find the motivation I need to get started.

First off- I live in Washington state, which makes shipping blanks and everything more expensive. I am a student, so price is a pretty important. The greenlight beginner kit seems pretty economical, but I was wondering if any of you knew of resources that would be more affordable. 

Also, I am a larger guy (6’3ish and 215 pounds)  and I usually prefer to ride longboards. The board I ride 95% of the time is a 9’6 tyler sleek zeke. I also have a 6’7 single fin that rarely gets used, but is fun to goof around with. If there was a way to get a longboard blank for cheaper, I’d be probably more stoked to shape one. However, I am also interested in fish designs, provided they would be decent paddlers. 

I mostly surf crappy beachbreak, and would be stoked if my first design was one that I could surf regularly. However, price is a limiting factor and the beginner kits only come with blanks as long as 6’6. Is this a good purchase, or is there a better way to get into it? Also, if there are any forum members in the pacific northwest, it would be cool to know where you get your supplies and get any tips. 

Thanks!

Check out FiberGlassSupply.com those guys are located out in Washington State and they carry everything you need to make a board start to finish, plus they have really great prices. Buy all the stuff from them and go for it

Thanks! Looks like exactly what I need. 

home depot/lowes

$35-$50 for a 4’x8’X2" sheet of 1lb Insulfoam EPS

or

$50-$80 pf a 4’x8"x2" sheet of blue dow roof insulation

bottle of sumo or goriila glue

2x4 stapled with a cut 60 grit sanding belt or some 80 grit drywall screen

epoxy resin and cloth from West Marine on Lake Union

believe me

you don’t need no surf supply store to make one of these things

But you are in the heart of it all