first time builder: futures after glassing, quad fin placement on fish

Hi,

I’m a first time builder, and have been lurking on the forum for quite while, trying to soak up knowledge . Now I registered and this is my first post.

I finished shaping and laminating my first board, a 6’0 fish. I based the shape on a Fineline twin keel fish I own. The original has quite a lot of rocker, hard rails, and dual concaves, so maybe you would call it a modern fish design, despite the twin keels that make it looks more traditional? Anyway, those are just categories. The original works very well even in bigger and steeper waves.

So I built the blank from scratch (polyiso foam, PVC stringer), and laminated with Greenlight bamboo glass and RR epoxy. Two layers on deck, one on bottom. I’ve been updating my friends at http://hornmelon.blogspot.com, you can find lots of pictures of the project there if you’re interested. There is a link there to tons of blank production pictures as well. Don’t expect too high quality, it’s the first time I’m doing this… So far the board came out pretty well.

The remaining steps are leash plug, fins, and hotcoat. I have a set of quad Future Fin boxes that I am tempted to use. That would make the board quite different from the original I’m copying, which has these beatiful Gephardt keels. But I’d like to have something more travel friendly, and am curious how this design would work as a quad.

Here are my questions:

• What do you think about the quad box idea, given the boards shape? Should I rather go with twin boxes? I’m hesitant putting keels in boxes for my first board, since I know those big fins create huge forces. Also I don’t own a quad, and am eager to have one.

• I did not put the concaves of the of the original board in, wanting to keep things simple. Could I still add some concave in the hotcoat, if I make a resin dam to build up thickness?