Foma stringers

My budddy wants me to shape him a blank with a red/white/blue stringer cominations. My advice was to to a T Band and paint the colors on in after the hotcoat, but he has his mind made up that he wants colored foam stringers to accomplish this. I know that you can get colored foam bands in red and blue, and you can certainly sandwhich them together to create any combination of red/white/blue that you want. However I would thinkg that you would still need a stringer in there somewhere right??? What about sandwhiching the foam stringers with two 1"8 basswood stringers? The blank he wants to use is the 10’7H. He’s a big guy, 6’4" 230ish. I’ve no experience with foam stringers, and or strange stringer combinations, so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Drew

I wonder if you could get Clark to make you up a blank with red glue on one side of some bass, and blue on the other? … I know that bass isn’t the whitest of woods but…

another option with clark is glue lines. just get them to put glue in where stringers would go, insert stringers as you normally would. makes a nice through the board pin stripe effect. no charge either (i think). i did a board recently with a t-band stringer with black glue for the glue-up and glue lines offsetting the center stringer by about 5 inches. had a nice, classic longboard look.

do the glue lines look smooth?? bitch to shape??

they come out smooth. just have to be careful at the rails, treat it like an offset stringer. that is, plan ahead, shape the glue line close to finish shape and smooth the rails into it. probably not the best explanation, but you probably get the picture.