Futures Fins not fitting in fin box post glassing/hotcoat

Hey everyone I’m new to board building and just finishing up my second board. Lots of lessons learned so far on both boards and I’m excited to keep improving. I’ve run into an issue with both boards and was hoping to get some help. I’ve used futures for both setups and I am putting in the fin boxes pre glassing. Once I’m finished with the boards and I cut out the tape over the fin boxes I’m having a very difficult almost impossible time getting my fins into the boxes. Not sure if anyone has had this issue and has advice on a way forward. I appreciate any help!

also if this is already covered on a different post please direct me to it. i have been able to find one. thanks again

-Tyler

Hey Tyler,

Problems with fin boxes used to be the bane of my existence when starting out. My issues typically came from not sealing them all the way with tape (even when I thought I had). Have you tried shining a light in them to see if there is any resin that spilled over. Even a tiny amount and the fin box wont go in. If you do have resin in them, even a tiny amount, I would get a dremel with a skinny sharp tip and sand them out very carefully. This has worked for me in the past when I had a small amount of resin in them.

Hope this helps. Lmk what you find out!

-Seaface

1 Like

Bought a new board or two where fins were a challenge to put in.

One retailer suggested rubbing the fin’s base with wax paper first, both sides.
Worked on the board he sold me.

I haven’t done any Futures boxes but with a normal centre fin box I always apply some mould release wax inside with a cotton bud incase any resin finds it’s way in. It pops out with a thin blade then and helps lubricate your fins anyway.

Seaface,