Given Used Board To Practice Repair

Hey Guys, I’m new to the site and I have a couple questions about a board I was given… There is a lot of damage and I dont know if it’s major or minor because I have little experience in repair or surfing for that matter. I was given the board by chance and I have 0 money invested in it. If I can fix it up I wouldnt mind surfing more often. Below are pictures of the damge. Like I said I’m not sure what is fixable and what is beyond repair. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

^ Creases on bottom of nose

^ fiberglass worn spot on bottom, another like it on top

^ I think an awful previous repair… looks really bad

^ Fins Pushing Through Top? It’s like that on both sides…

^ discolored spots and discoloration running along stringer

^ and finally a jacked up nose…

Again any help is appreciated and I’m looking forward to your comments. Thanks!

Best way to learn repair is to watch someone  else

2nd best: search through the archives here and probably on youtube

that board looks like if repaired probably has a good 2 years of life in it.

Then again a pic can give a false impression.

If you don’t have another board to surf and just want to get it water tight so you can get it in the water, go for it.  I wouldn’t bother with the creases and if it’s just a dent, leave it alone.  If the fiberglass is cracked, patch and seal.  I’m sure there’s tons of info about how to fix dings out there, but basically I follow these steps.

1. Clean the area (no wax or dirt).

2. Sand down to cloth about half inch around the ding.  I’d use 60 grit.  If you have a orbital sander, use it.  Also remove any bits of fiberglass that’s just hanging there.

3. Tape/cover up around the area to be fixed so you don’t get resin where you don’t need it.

4. For the nose, create a basin with tape so the resin doesn’t drip away.