glassing - first attempt

hi there,

i’m a beginner and just practiced glassing  on a piece of foam. before i destroy my shaped blank i would appreciate if you could give me some recommendations. I used 6oz fibreglass, polyester resin and about 2% catalyst. it was very difficult to get the laps in. 30mins after the lamination some air bubbles occurred, see photo below.  the resin didn’t dry even after more than 3h and still feels “sticky”. i assume i didn’t use enough catalyst. also the color i used (water based acrylic color) started to bleed into the white part of the blank. out of this I learned: don’t color the first board, focus on glassing only. what can i do to get the problem with the laps & air bubbles solved?

i would appreciate if you could give me more advises/tips to improve the result when glassing the real blank.

many thanks!

best,

jan

[img_assist|nid=1062524|title=glassing 1|desc=|link=none|align=left|width=478|height=640]

hi there,

this is a second picture.

best,

jan

[img_assist|nid=1062526|title=glassing 2|desc=|link=none|align=left|width=640|height=478]

JanG,

How sticky does i feel. It is lam resin so it will always be slightly tacky. The amount of catalyst depends on how hot or cold it is outside. UV cure resin would be easier to deal with, especially on your first board.

that scrap looks like glassing a rectangle...very block looking which might have made it more difficult for you to squeegee air out. make sure that when you are glassing, you are pulling the resin and air bubbles out to the rail. hold your squeegee at an angle to the stringer, not perpendicular, so that you can pull the bubbles out to the rail. also, befor you lap, make sure all bubbles are out, then tuck the glass under. work fast too.

good luck and I hope this helps you