Grounding an Electric Planer (photos)

Hi, this is my first post here in the forum.

recently i bought a makita planer… the 0810 and i was constantly getting zapped so my solution was to add a ground to thw whole planer…

so heres is my project, it worked wery well…

(today im also working on the vacuum system and I will post it soon.)

sorry about the overposting… i just cant seen to find the delete buttom

here is the sequence

Hello ntsurf666 —

Looks like you did a good job.  I’d still be a bit concerned as electrical safety is serious stuff. 

My background is in medical electro-diagnostics and I know there are some stringent requirements in hospitals regarding chassis leakage, etc.  It seems odd to me that you were receiving a shock in the first place, especially on a power tool with plastic body(?)  Hopefully you will get a multimeter and figure out how to test this further.

Power outlets can be wired incorrectly and power tools can go wonky… either way, you don’t want juice traveling through your ticker to ground.

Maybe someone like Pete Casica or Bill Thrailkill will chime in on this.

https://www.mddionline.com/leakage-current-standards-simplified

Hello!

The shock im receiving i think is the static of the EPS with the tool.

It happened when i touched the metal base plate

Hope it helps

Thanks for posting this since my Makita Conversion Kit uses the factory 2-wire cord because many are not used with a vac system.