Hansen 9'8" Featherlight Pintail w/ 3/4 stringer

I wanted to share a board a found under a house in Encinitas, CA about 1975. I bought it from the original owner for $25. There is nothing featherlight about it.

It’s very hard to see but looks like .14310.

Wow, looks to be in great shape. Nice board. I wish we took care of the old ones stuffed behind the house rotting away and only ridden during the summer. Mike

My ex father inlaw left it in the sun and burnt the nose on the bottom (the dark circle) when I was skiing in Park City for the winter. I have been surfing it on and off for 30 years. Top turns on a dime, nose rides great, better in waist to head high, but too much rocker for large waves.

Doug,

Would you post a photo of the number on the board, or post what the number is, along with any symbols, dots, or letters that are part of the number sequence. I may have shaped the board. The number tells the story.

Doug,

Your board was shaped by Fred (Buzzy) Smole. Buzzy always put a dot in front, and behind the number. Boards that I shaped had the letter T as the last character in the number sequence.

Bill, it looks like .14310. I posted the photo along with the label. I bought it the fall of 1975 from a police officer in Escondido. I was 19 and his brother was a grower on my route. I use to supply seed and compost to jojoba growers all over SD county. I also bought an 8’6" Morey Pope round pin with the same fin but it didn’t work as well, so I took out the fin in case this one broke, so I have two fins. Did you shape it or know who did?

Got it, always thought it was state of the art when it was shaped. Any idea what year?

Doug,