Help with Fin Repair 1977 Fish

Hi guys. I bought a 1977 Sunshine Rocket Fish Twinny. I need some help fixing the fin pictured below.

Check out in each pic where the pencil tip is pointing. I have lots of experience repairing dings but am not

sure how to fix this old fin. The fin is stable and not wobbly. Do I just pry off the cracked glass and recloth over the stable old glass?

What oz do i use for the cloth? Also-the swallow tail needs some repair-does anybody know a way to match the new repair

glass to the "yellowed" color of the board? Thanks for your help!

Cannot see any pics

sorry. weird. how bout now?

OK . I can see the pics, now. You should grind out the damage at the base of the fin and lay some rope in there. Once that sets up, sand out to match the curve and glass with two layers of 4 oz. At least, that’s how I would do it.

Don’t have fiberglass rope? Make your own. Get some 10 oz cloth, cut it into 4x4 squares,  and pull out strands to make a bundle about 1/4" to 3/8" thick.

Search this forums archives as to how you do fin rope at the base.

A crafty guy I know (named “Doc”) uses coffee to tint resin so it matches older boards that have yellowed. You’ll have to go with trial and error on that one.

Thanks for your input.  I was just looking at the board- the fiberglass under the crack in pic #1 (where the fin meets the board)

is stable and the fin is snug. Do you still recommend using the rope? Also-what is the best tool for "grinding" the glass?

I have a dremel at my disposal......thanks again.

I did the search for you. Ball’s in your court, now.

http://www2.swaylocks.com/forums/how-to-glass-fins-properly

damn. i would like to do this fix myself but dont want to screw it up. what do you guys think

a surf shop would charge to fix it?

If you don't take the risk of screwing up then you will never learn anything ! Chance um !