Home Depot Retro Fish

Hello all!

I’ve been lurking around here for a while now after about a year and a half of surfing. I’ve had fun in the summertime on my 9’ longboard and fun in the wintertime on my 5’10", but i’ve been looking for something to suppliment my summertime surfing with something a little more fun. 

Thus the “retro” home-depot insulation fish

This is my first attempt as shaping or making any kind of board and see the problems with it: lack of rocker(it’s a work in progress and photos make it look thinner than it is), strange bumps and contours on my rails(those might end up staying). But i’m still happy with the result and am looking at this as more of a fun project rather than getting into building boards.

I am thinking about doing a twin glass on setup and for my schedule i’m thinking 4/4 oz on top and on bottom and maybe a fin area patch. 

So i’ve come here to ask you if first of all if my glass schedule will be strong enough considering the lack of stringer and also (more embarrassingly) do you put glass on fins over hot coat and everything or do you do that around/over the fins?

Thanks for coming and looking at my rockerless piece of foam regardless

‘Insulfoam’ brand should say what the density code is.  If 1.25 PCF or less, I don’t think 2 layers of 4 oz is going to be enough.  I would also make a longblock for smoothing out some of your shaping lines.  Don’t give up.  I just don’t quite see the board it’s trying to be yet.  I glass fins on top of the lamination and since it will be epoxy resin, that should take place ASAP after the lamination.  Hit the fill coat ASAP as well.  You don’t want too long of a delay between coats… I’ve heard it said that if you can sand it, you’re past the chemical bond phase - not sure if everyone would agree to that though.

InsulFoam I – nom.1 pcf density, roof insulation

InsulFoam VIII – nom. 1.25 pcf density, roof insulation

InsulFoam II – nom. 1.5 pcf density, roof insulation