HWS Mini Simmons 6'3" build thread

Hi everyone

I’m a beginner builder, done one HWS 6 years ago in a workshop 9’3" noserider, and currently building my second board a 6’3" 21-1/2" 2-3/4" mini Simmons.

I rented a small space in Munich, Germany and building as much with hand tools as possible. I don’t like the noise and hand tools are kind of meditation but of course slow but I don’t mind that. Half is remembering from the workshop, other half is experimenting and reading up here on sways.

The frame is 10mm birch plywood, deck is 6mm Paulownia with an inlayed stringer of American walnut.
Rails are beats and cove method.

The deck is from 10cm wide 25mm thick 2.5m long Paulownia boards that I ripped with a Japan rip cut saw and then plained down to thickness so I have a book matched grain

The frame is done with a shaper origin (hand hold CNC router) so I have a reliable base to build on.

The rails are done currently with a router with a jig and a beads and cove bit but I want to do that in the future with a combination plane. The one I want is out of stock since over a year everywhere so noisy scary tool has to suffice currently.

Latest challenge was to stream bend the starter strips around the nose. I stole the egg cocker/steamer (not sure if that is a German only gadget or not) out of our kitchen. That worked amazingly great. Steady supply of stream. Since you usually only need a small part of the strip steamed it usually is done with one or two rounds.

Progress so far is deck and bottom prepared, frame assembled and glued to the bottom. Chine strip and Starter strip glued in and tail and nose blocking installed. Fin boxes are also marked (will be a quat setup) and next step is fin blocking. Blocking is also Paulownia off cuts except the fin boxes. They will be balsa.

Last months I was busy with another project and work so progress was quite slow. Now I got some time off and will continue end of October.

4 Likes

Very nice. I’m following this thread!