I'm so sick of banner ads!

I don’t know about you, but I am so sick of banner advertisements showing on Swaylock’s. Unfortunately, at this point, they are the simplest way to pay for the site. And trust me when I say it’s just barely at that…

I’ve been thinking long and hard about how to replace them with a great alternative to generate some real revenue for this thing I’ve been running for close to 20 years. I’m interested in hearing opinions from the community. I have a few of my own – and would like to hear from the community first. Once I get a few ideas, I’ll run a little poll to see where the wider community stands.

Thanks,
Mike

They don’t bother me in the least, in fact I don’t even consciously see them.

My experience, exactly.

Use the Google Chrome browser and install the AdBlock Plus plugin and you will never see another banner ad on this site. I didn’t even know we had them here. I had to switch browsers to even see what you were complaining about. I never see them here or on any of the other forum sites I visit. It also eliminates ads before videos on youTube.

I use adblock but only because it speeds things up a bit. I’d turn it off if you asked us to. I don’t think sitting through some banner ads is too high a price to pay for access to this forum.

Looking for ideas on how to generate revenue for swaylock’s other than banner advertising.

I’m all for Mr. Paler to get his “due”. For this site to proliferate to what it is took a LOT OF DOING. He’s earned any way possible to get some dough out of it. I am completely ignorant of the process but it seems about time. Sadly, there are dozens of folks making plenty on drivel at other sites like You Tube. But then again it has always been like “squeezing turnips” when dealing with surfers. The ads don’t bother me and are part of the privilege of coming here for entertainment and knowledge.