In-Line and Fin Design...at last.

I've mentioned the In-Line fin design I've been working on many times before. I started playing with and designing fins on my first board 34 years ago, and after trying pretty much everything I ended up with the in-line design.

I'm not the first to do it and I'm not claiming that. But I've been refining this for over 15 years now, in my head, my hands, on boards and in the water.

Due to circumstances, lack of pics, lack of boards, lack of living near waves, and actual lack of fins, I've never really been able to share here. Well, I'm now in a better position to show them, share info on them, and try and answer any questions people may have.

First a couple of older ones from about 6 months ago. Then the latest ones on my little 508 with the little side fins.

(Not sure why the pics don't display, they did on the other thread)

wildy - good stuff!

i tried my hand a laying up a fin panel with bamboo veneer offcuts yesterday - went to foil them today and the layers seperated some while cutting them out.  i plan on trying it again with some fiberglass between each layer.  i will have to take away a couple layers to compensate for the thickness of the glass.  i did not put them in the bag - just put some weight on the panel - maybe that had something to do with it also.......did you put glass in between layers or just resin?

What does it ride like?

wow!

Thanks Huck. What am doing wrong?

Everysurfer, the ride is pretty smooth, something I've always liked about single fins. Problem was to try and turn easier you put the fin forward, which made the board spin out with the extra area created behind the fin. So logically another fin helps. I'm into putting the centre-of-effort under my feet, not at the tail.