Input on SUP design

I am planning to build a hollow wood SUP, using the Grain Surfboards building method. I live and surf in Santa Cruz, CA and would use the board primarily for surfing small point break waves, and for shorter fitness runs or break to break surf tours. Most common wave size would be 1-4 feet, generally with good shape and quality. I’m an SUP novice, but longtime surfer, 5’7" 173, decent but not great fitness. I most frequently surf a 9’-0" performance oriented longboard, but also ride a 10’-0" nose rider and ocaisionally break out the 7’-8" hybrid for bigger days.

Thanks to all the folks here who have published a lot of great information on board design. I’ve been lurking here for a while now, and have spent hours reading and learning. I would very much appreciate any comments or suggestions, particularly related to rocker, rail shape and fin placement. Here are the critical dimensions, and a spec sheet for my current design:

Nose rocker= 5-13/16"; 1 foot back 3-5/16"

Tail Rocker=3-3/4"; 1 foot forward 2-5/16"

Length=11’-6"; width 28-11/16"; thickness 4-9/16"; volume=173.8 liters

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v408/andygere/Stand%20Up%20Paddle/Waveyarderinfo.jpg

I’m curious how you calculated the litres.

thanks

The AKU shaper program that I used to design the board performs the calculation automatically. It’s a free design program available at http://www.aps3000.com/

you gonna be in the neighborhood…

stop by I’ll take you paddling

and the variety of shapes

I can pack on the car

will answer lots of parameter questions…

udder wise,

4;25 tick 10’6- 28.5 ‘’ wide 17’’ nose 18’’ tail…contep-speedy for monterey bay

4 7/8-5 3/4 - 12’ - 30’‘wide 20’‘nose 2’’ wide tail cowels to riermouth dream machine

6’’ tick 13’9’-14’+ 26 1/2 wide 14’’ nose 13’’ tail tippy down winder

four mile to rivermouth or pinkys to scott creek waimea kong killa…

the hypnotic resonance of fine crafted wood echos in my immagination

a spruce cormerant