Journey of two balsa compsands

I’m a backyard builder and a long time swaylock’s lurker, but don’t post here often… so many smart guys and craftmens around here that I feel intimidated!!

By the way I’d like to thank the sway’s crew for their stoke and willingness to share, and the compsand’s guys (especially Bert, and also of course danb, Benny1, Sabs, Silly, jjp, marjyv and the others…) for their creative and very inspirative posts.

Those are my first balsa compsands, but I’ve already played quite a bit with vacuum building (windsurf, kitesurf and surf boards with EPS, epoxy and PVC).

First board is a 5’816,521 1/8*16.5 big swallow tail, multi plugged (Chip’s inspired!!) twinzer/quad/twin convertible, flat continuous rocker (1.35"T, 3"N).

Second board is a 6’0*15.5(T)20.514.7(N) quad, double wingers, 80’s rocker (1.75"T, 4"N).

Both boards are very thin: 2"max, with concave decks so less than 1 7/8 in the middle.

A summer quiver… I’m a bit fed up with flat wide boards and swallows, so my next one will be a 6.6 round pin tail “barrels hunting machine”, 2.5" tail rocker :), balsa compsand of course…

Photos of the construction process in the following posts…

Core is 10kg/m3 EPS (0.65).

Outline and foil were cut with a hotwire.

Deck and bottom skins are 2mm balsa, density around 180kg/m3 (quite heavy for balsa), planks were carefully selected according to their flex and density, rails are 3*4mm balsa.

Fins reinforcements are blocks of 6mm balsa, balsa grain oriented perpendiculary to the board’s axis for maximum longitudinal flex and maximum lateral resistance. They are inserted and glued in the core with PU.

I used the offcuts of the outline to press the rails against the core.

I’ve used two slightly different methods: first rails then bottom skin for the twinzer, first bottom skin then rails for the quad. I prefer the second method (less possibilities of mistakes and a more beautiful result I think…).