Kabboom !!! Glassers be cautious.

I’ve been shaping for 2 months now, and doing well. This forum has helped me quite a bit, so thanks everyone. the reason I’m writing this post is to warn those who are glassing their own boards. I had a pretty close call this sunday after thanksgiving. I was cleaning up from the last glass job, I found some resin left over in the 1 gallon metal container, and I wanted to salvage it. So I opened the cap, and next thing I know, the container detonated from both top and bottom and sent off a decent size fireball. I was dazed for a couple of seconds then tried to put the fire out. There was patches of resin on fire on the garage floor and on my pants. After putting that out within minutes, which was pretty scary experience, the firefighters showed up. To make a long story short, the Marshall’s verdict was the container was full of fumes, and slightly pressurized, and when I opened it, I had a static charge on me, and simultaneously introduced oxygen. I’m pretty lucky that the damage to me and my property was minimal, but man that was a pretty traumatic experience. I’ve always been careful around these chemical since I started using them, but the last thing I expected was an explosion when unscrewing the cap off.

The fire marshall took the container to use it as a demo, he teaches fire safety, and said that this is the first time he has seen MEK go off like this. PS: for those in san diego, last sunday was quite cool 60 something. So don’t think the container was in a hot, sunny area. In the future, I will use resin, cap it, and never re-open.

sincerely

Wow, Gnarly! Glad you’re ok…I’m a little confused though…Was the resin you were trying to “salvage” already catalyzed? You say the Fire Marshall was suprised that “MEK” went off like that…

Quote:

Wow, Gnarly! Glad you’re ok…I’m a little confused though…Was the resin you were trying to “salvage” already catalyzed? You say the Fire Marshall was suprised that “MEK” went off like that…