KANOA Surfboards?

Has anyone out there ever heard of Kanoa Surfboards? I have been looking at a board made under this label and I am thinking of purchasing it but I have no knowledge of the company or their credibility in the surf world. Thanks for any help/advice you can give me. Also, this website kicks butt!! As soon as I have a garage to work in I am building myself many many boards thanks to all of the inspiration I have gotten on here.

Howzit ekibike, Do you know where the boards are made, as in what country or state. With a name like KANOA it sounds like a Hawaii board,but I've never heard of them so they might be  back yard built boards .Aloha,Kokua

Wow its been a long time since i’ve visited/logged in. About the Kanoa label, If i remember correctly I’m pretty sure that label was out of the South Bay area, (Hermosa, Redondo, Torrance). I only remember because I visited my Grandparents in Palos verdes several times when i was grom in the early 80’s and remember seeing the the sign on a surf shop somewhere in that area. Also remember seeing quite a few of the boards at the local beaches and a few in the mags.

Aloha, 808shapes

Ekibike-

Kanoa surfboards was in Manhattan Beach in the early 80’s. It was a small shop and I think it was on Highland Ave? My Kanoa was the first board I ever bought with my own cash, it was a beautiful 6’4" single wing, twin-fin, swallow tail. I surfed it all over So. Cal., Baja and even a couple of sessions @ Ala Moana & Kaisers. It seems to me that there was a second shop somewhere in the So. Bay (L.A.) but I can’t remember where. Sorry no pics, it was a long time ago.

Sr. Pato

“but I have no knowledge of the company or their credibility in the surf world.”

What does this matter if the board looks good and has you attention…

Thanks to everybody that had some info about this board. It really helped me alot. Have a good one guys!!