Longboard Build from a Live Tree

I built a 9’6 longboard out of a live tree that I cut down and documented the process in a video! I hope you all are entertained by it and can provide me with some constructive criticism!

I learned a lot from this forum, and Brian (from Greenlight) is the one who made it possible with his Vented Leash Cup!

I don’t know how this thread was posted with no content? Whenever I post just pictures, I still have to write something in the comment box, even if its just a period.

Anyway, we have an interesting thread title, so I’ll leave it up in hopes the o.p. will clarify. If nothing appears, I will eventually delete it.

I read on here a lot, but this is my first time posting, sorry I screwed it up! I thought it looked strange, but I think I just typed the info in the summary instead of the body which was obviously wrong!

thank you for your patience!
kyle

You kilted a tree to make a surfboard???

You said entertaining, and it was! You’re stoked, quite an accomplishment, from tree to surfboard. I have built hws and I know the kind of work and tenacity they require. Not meant as an insult but as constructive criticism, I would say the shaping / glassing portion looks pretty crude to my eyes, I would get a bit more mastery of the process and finished product before I started posting process videos to the world, haha. Thanks for sharing! Glad to have you on swaylocks and hope you keep posting up your future projects.

Thank you for the support and for the advice! I definitely have a lot to learn about glassing, but while im just making them for me as a hobby, Im OK with it! If I ever make one to sell, I’ll get it professionally glassed!

The tree was growing in conjuction with two others that all inhibited each other’s growth. Taking this one was beneficial to the other two!

WOW well done , thanks for posting

Thank you very much!!

wow, you missed the point on that one.