McCoy style boards

Hi guys,

Long time follower now new member.

I’ve been riding Midlengths for over thirty years now, all different fin arrangements and I love them at 7’10”x15”x22”x15”. Was thinking about a McCoy style 7’6”x14”x22”x16”or17” tail. I feel it would be great to stand in one spot and not have to move around like you do on a normal midlength. The bottom would be flat to double concave bee in the tail. Thruster or single with side bites. What are your thoughts on this style board? I surf in North County CA.                                                   Thank you and I love this forum.

Welcome.

What is a “normal” mid length? 

What is a McCoy style mid length? 

Where is north county? I’m sure it’s slang for the norther part of the county you live in. 

Welcome.

If you intend to go with McCoy style planshape width (especially tail width) and thickness (especially tail thickness), but incorporate a flat to double concave vee bottom contour, you will get quite a different beast to what a McCoy would surf like. McCoys “loaded dome” (gently rolled) bottom helps to control all that width and thickness. Putting a “faster” bottom contour on it will certainly give it more “up & go”, but will make less “natural” in going from rail to rail, and limit it’s ability to handle larger, more powerful waves. The McCoy designs inherent tendency to “non reactive neutrality” (for want of a better term) will be be reduced (they tend to surf themselves, with very little input required).

That’s my 2 cents worth.