Mega thick board / Injury solution.

One of my brothers has a shoulder replacement and he can’t bring his elbow up high enough to paddle .

but I could build a mega tthick board that floats him higher.

I’m talking 6 or 8 inches thick, rounded fun board template to maximise the planing area.

Anyone else built a thick board and any tips for making it work ?

I’m no expert but the “Thick board, skinny rails” thread could be of interest:

https://www.swaylocks.com/forums/thick-board-skinny-rails

However, SUP is a beautiful thing  :^)     

I thought of that thread Jago, but I think it’s gonig to need a full thickness SUP style of board but keeping the width under 22 “wide. Wasn’t sure if the Thin Rails were required anymore as the SUPs do it quite well on fat rails.

Hi Brett,

On my thicker boards I cut in  a top rail band that is indexed to the bottom in the style of Dave Daum.

He uses a router, I use a hot wire on EPS.

Seems like 8" thick x 22" wide x 8’ fun shape is going to look like a baby whale or small kayak…

What are the dim’s of the brother? How many liters do you need? Shoulder injuries are tough.

BoardCAD has a default ‘funboard’ shape you could use to study volume.

Likely you and he have already discussed this “other” option but there are ways to surf that don’t require arm paddling. Me, I love surfmats and have done many sessions kicking only or just paddling with one arm and kicking. Same on bodyboard and paipo

how about a surf mat-such as a 4th gear flyer?

The TaylorO “Sally Series” with raised deck might work:

https://www.swaylocks.com/forums/sally-4-5-slab-xps

https://www.swaylocks.com/comment/537889#comment-537889

Not too long a go I read something a bout someone that started knee paddling. Mid leant board due to bad shoulders. His limited arm movement made it impossible to prone Paddle a Short Board.