miapoxy......desperately need help

hi guys,

i am new to swaylocks as of tonight and am seeking some help from some experienced veterans of the trade. i am up to board #4 (shaped and glassed). so far not to bad with an obvious progression from one board to the next but i cant seem to finish the boards off properly. i am using eps foam with with an epoxy system called miapoxy. i seem to have relatively no difficulties until i get to the hot coat stage…all 3 finished boards to this point have all fish-eyed in the hot coat (severe). when i try do sand down the hoat coat to eliminate the fish eyes i end up hittin the lamination level and getting discolorations on the board. also i have tried…and tried to get each board nicely polished (despite discolorations) and seem to be having no luck. is there something i am doing wrong? is there some sort of miracle product for sanding and polishing epoxy? any help would be much appreciated.

cheer,

dbrock

main causes of fisheye is dust contaminates and amine blushing or moisture in the air

blushing is a light film of oily substance that comes to the surface when curing

make sure you wipe down the board with meths or xylene first

alternatives are to lay down the filler coat before the lam is cured(cheater coat)

another is to sponge a thin thinned layer of resin on with a sponge or cloth onto the cured lam

let that go tacky and then fill coat

i use a cheater on the deck

flip and grind the bottom laps

the lightly sand the weave on the bottom

wipe down with xylene

brush down filler coat

its all in the preperation

oh great!! thanks for the advice Paul.

please excuse my ignorance though but what is meths and xylene?

are they easy to find (local hardware)

thanks agains,

cheers!

Hi dbrock,

Most people on this forum swear by Resin Research epoxy – and it is supposedly safer to work with than most. But your problem is most likely not related to the type of epoxy you use.

There are 3 obvious things to consider: